Jul 17, 2012 9:32AM

Listen: 'Angels' by The xx

The first single to be released from new album, 'Coexist'.

After tempting live audiences with new material, The xx have officially released the first single off their upcoming album, Coexist (the album artwork is above). Pretty good timing seeing as they're playing Melbourne tomorrow night, and Sydney this Friday — we'd like to think of this as a little shout-out to their Australian fans.

The band left the following message on their Facebook: "It's been a long time since we've played you anything new. This song is called 'Angels', it is the first single from our new album, Coexist. We've been playing this song live recently, so it feels good to share with you the version we've been working on for so long. We hope you like it."

Coexist will be released on Friday September 7 via Young Turks/Remote Control, but you can pre-prder the new record from tonight onwards on iTunes. You'll also receive 'Angels' instantly when doing so.

Coexist tracklist:

01 Angels
02 Chained
03 Fiction
04 Try
05 Reunion
06 Sunset
07 Missing
08 Tides
09 Unfold
10 Swept Away
11 Our Song